Board of Education

The Board of Education is the governing body of the Old Saybrook School District and derives its power and exists under the Constitution General Statutes of the State of Connecticut and the procedures of the Connecticut State Board of Education. The nine member Board shall be elected at a regular municipal election to oversee public education and serve staggered, unsalaried, four (4) year terms. Members of the Board are responsible for being informed about the schools and educational programs. The Board´s major duties include: to set policies concerning education, organization, and financial matters; to monitor and evaluate the administration of its policies; and to recommend annual operating and capital budgets to the Board of Finance. Their decisions are critical to the educational welfare of the children in Old Saybrook.


Back Row L to R: John Gabelmann, Karina Julius, James Henderson, George Chang, Cindy Sultini, Eileen Baker, Aliana Castro
Front Row L to R: Karen Brodeur, Tara Barros, Alan Hyla

Contact the Board of Education - Please note that all emails sent to the Board will be reviewed by the Assistant to the Superintendent and forwarded to the Superintendent of Schools and/or the Chairman of the Board of Education. 

Board Member Handbook